Now Available – Written on the Road – A Collection of Poetry by Elizabeth Gates

Written on the Road was exactly that. A collection of poems written over the course of many travels, describing the highs and lows of life and love, family, friends, homes and the glorious countryside, as Elizabeth Gates and her husband, Eric, toured the country from Land’s End to John O’Groats, in their trusty Fiat campervan.  

Inspirational, sincere and sometimes heart-breaking in their honesty, the poems within Written on the Road are one women’s view of her life, experiences and the world “as is”.  

A beautiful and unique collection.  

Compiled and edited by David E. Gates. Available to order from here.

Fan Letter Packs available.

Buying a book from my bookstore for someone? Why not send a personalised fan letter from the author along with it?

Includes: Personalised letter directly related to the book or books purchased, signed by the author, postcards of book artwork and a bookmark.

Just £1. Simply add to your order.

Note: Actual postcards and bookmarks may differ from those illustrated.

“Live” Feedback for Access Denied

Earlier this week, I had an opportunity to “sell” to a lady at a train station a copy of my book, Access Denied. She said she loved true stories and I warned her that people had told me that once they started reading it, they couldn’t put it down. She bought a copy of it right in front of me and downloaded it instantly to her Kindle.

The next day, I saw her again. “Oh my God! I couldn’t put it down!” She told me. There’s something very nice, very rewarding, about hearing that directly from the reader.

Access Denied – Available, autographed, and in eBook form, from my bookstore. Also available from all other good online bookstores.

Happy Halloween – All Horror eBooks/Short Stories HALF PRICE!

To celebrate all those things that go bump in the night… All digital copies of my Horror and Short Stories purchased through my bookstore are half price!

Limited time offer. Use code: Halloween (Clicking this link applies discount to your order).

Offer applies to the following:

Realm of Rhyme – Available to pre-order

From the author of Access Denied, The Roots of Evil, The Wretched and Cinema, comes a unique selection of original poems.

Featuring historical reference poems such as “The Mary Celeste”, “The Mother of Angola”, “The Ode of Phineas Gage” and tributes to The Queen and King Charles III along with silly rhymes, David E. Gates expresses his love and frustration with the world today.

Let yourself dip into the Realm of Rhyme.

With additional material from Karen Moore.

Currently available to pre-order from my bookstore, Apple, Kobo. Nook (Barnes and Noble) and Amazon.

Full Cover
eBook Cover

Coming Soon – Realm of Rhyme

My new Poetry Anthology, Realm of Rhyme, is coming soon.

Featuring poems, most of which are previously unpublished, including “Why Can’t a King Cry”, “The Queen”, “The Ode of Phineas Gage”, “Susanna M. Salter”, “The Mother of Angola”, “Mary Ann Bevan”, “Normandy” and “Remembrance”, plus many more.

Available for pre-order now from my bookstore.

Mind Blood – Five Star Review!

5.0 out of 5 stars 

Couldn’t put it down!!!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 August 2022

Mind Blood is a brilliant little book of short stories – some had me thinking… One or two made me giggle and a few were quite impossible not to question if it could happen to you… or has it yet to happen?? So many little twists and lots of blood – my poor brain has had to have a holiday!! Well done to David for a book I can pick up again and again to quench my thirst of little short stories without having to leave the light on but keep me awake thinking… Drip Drip drip… Is anybody there? It’s just a book… Let your imagination run amok with this little gem of a book. Go on. I dare you.

Available at all good online bookstores and via

Buy One, Get One FREE – Kinda

Buy any book* from my bookstore, and get a FREE short story…

Offer only for a limited time…

* – Only applies to the following books:

  • Access Denied
  • Cinema
  • The Roots of Evil
  • The Deeper Roots of Evil
  • The Wretched
  • Omonolidee
  • First Words
  • Unzipped: The Mind of a Madman
  • Mind Blood
  • UFO: The Edinburg Incident and Other UFO Stories

Random short story will be supplied in same format as book ordered.

OUT NOW! New Anthology of Short Stories: Mind Blood.

A new anthology of short stories by David E. Gates.

Featuring tales of the macabre such as The Blood, Croc, The Crash, The Ghosts of Gribble and You’re Next along with short, flash-fiction stories including The Devil Needs Payin’ and The Search.

More than 30 original stories, many of which have never been previously published.

Get your copy from the bookstore.

Cinema – Interview with Jon Brown from Express FM

The interview about my new book, Cinema, with Jon Brown from Express FM, which was featured on Darren Gamblen’s show on 3rd May 2022, is now available for your listening pleasure.

Cinema is available in eBook and Kindle formats from all good online bookstores and in Paperback from Amazon. Alternatively, it can be purchased via my bookstore.

Cinema Interview – Part 1 – David E. Gates – Jon Brown – Express FM

Cinema Interview – Part 2 – David E. Gates – Jon Brown – Express FM